O’Hara, Nesbit nominated for McWhorter Fellowship

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama. – Margaret O’Hara of the Arkansas Gymnastics Team and Jacob Nesbit of the Razorbacks Baseball Team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Graduate Scholarship at the University of Arkansas.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the top male and female college athletes in the league.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2022 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Graduate Scholarship in early May.

Highlights of the Arkansas nominees include:

MAGGIE O’HARA, Arkansas, Gymnastics

Major: Exercise Sciences (Master’s)

WCGA Academic All-America, 2021

2022 AAI Award Nominated, 2022

All-American Uneven Bars (First Team), 2021

· First-ever All-American on uneven bars at Arkansas in regular season (second team)

Qualification for NCAA Championships, 2021

SEC Co-Specialist of the Week (January 15, 2021)

Competed in every competition in his two seasons at Arkansas with seven event titles, all on bars

· Helped create the athlete-led GiveBack initiative, raising money for select causes during each month of the gymnastics competitive season

Holds a share of the bars program senior class record, 9.950

Holds Regional Program and NCAA Championship bar records, both of 9.925

JACOB NESBIT, Arkansas, baseball

Major: Finance

(Currently pursuing her Masters in Operations Management)

Three SEC Academic Honor Roll selections, 2019, 2020, 2021

SEC Community Service Team, 2021

SEC Freshman of the Week, Week 6, 2019

· Involved with the IMPACT team

Helped organize the first Arkansas Childhood Cancer Awareness Game, 2021

· Played in 123 games during his career, totaling six homers and 65 RBIs

The SEC is offering the league’s male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year recipients a $20,000 graduate scholarship. The remaining 26 male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 graduate scholarship.

Winners are chosen by a committee of representatives from athletic faculties from all 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May, as well as honored by league members at SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Florida.

Last year’s McWhorter Award recipients were Savanna Faulconer of the Florida women’s swim team and Jon Bishop of the Texas A&M men’s track and cross country team.

Comments are closed.